Kenneth Jack Memorial Drawing Award

Kenneth Jack was on the founding committee of AGRA and later became a patron. After Kenneth’s passing in 2006 AGRA wanted to honour him and recognise the importance he placed on drawing and so AGRA created the Kenneth Jack Memorial Drawing Award in 2007. 


Kenneth Jack AM MBE RWS (5.10.24-10.6.06) was an Australian watercolour artist, who specialised in painting the images of an almost forgotten outback life: old mines, abandoned ghost towns, decaying farm buildings.  


He became a professional painter at the age of 39 after giving up his job as senior instructor at the Caulfield Institute of Technology.  In 1977 he was elected to the Royal Watercolour Society and in 1982 was award the MBE and the Order of Australia (AM) in 1987.  He continued working until his death.  


Kenneth Jack made many wonderful drawings. The Kenneth Jack Memorial Drawing Award is sponsored by the Jack family and AGRA.    AGRA has some of his collectable books for sale at the gallery



Who will be the 2020 winner ?

2019 winner  Catherine Hamilton
'Lost in New York City' charcoal

2018 winner Elena Kolotusha
for 'The Thinker'

2017 was won by Elena Kolotusha. David Jack representing the Jack family handing the prize to Elena .

2016 slide show

2017 slide show

2016 won by It Hao Pheh.  Above is David Jack represented the Jack family handing the prize to It Hao..  

2015 winner Chris McClelland 'The Hunter’s Five' behind Chris on the gallery wall.

The 2014 winner Patricia Galli, and Judge David Jack with her winning work 'Gallery Entrance'

The 2013 winner Janet Matthews with Betty Jack and judge David Jack.
Winning artwork
“Hmmm Greens, Black Swan”. 

The 2012 winner Elena Kolotusha seen here with Betty Jack and a Kenneth Jack drawing as part of the prize, 
Winning artwork 'Lines and Circles' is behind.

The 2009 Winner was Lisa Wang - “Cardiac Anatomical” .  

2008 winner Betina Fauvel-Ogden seen here accepting the KJM Drawing Prize from Betty Jack.  

The 2011 winner Pamela Moore. 
winning artwork 'Little Girl in a Big Chair'

The inaugural 2007 KJM Drawing Award, Betty Jack giving the prize to Margaret Gurney, the first winner of this prestigous prize. .

ABN 44005396609    


1 Inglesby Rd, Camberwell, Vic  3124  Australia.
     Tel:  61 03 9882 5859

office/gallery hours: Wed to Fri 10-4, Sat/Sun 1-4

© 2023 by The Painter​. Proudly created with

  • Twitter Clean
  • Facebook Clean